Mr. Allen Gentry Brandon

web pic
August 11, 1947 – December 17, 2015

Services
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Lie In State: 4:30 P.M. – 6:00 P.M.
Nelson & Sons Memorial Chapel
824 Lipscomb Street, Shelbyville, TN 37160

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Lie In State: 10:00 A.M.
Family Visitation: 12:00 Noon
Funeral Service: 1:00 P.M.

Bird Street Church of Christ
428 Bird Street
Shelbyville, TN 37160

Interment
Willow Mount Cemetery
Shelbyville, Tennessee

Allen Gentry Brandon was born August 11, 1947 to the late Meredith Buford, Jr. and Annie Louise Crawley in Nashville, Tennessee.  He departed this life on December 17, 2015.  He was baptized into Christ on August 30, 1998 at the Bird Street Church of Christ in Shelbyville, Tennessee and was a faithful and involved servant until his health failed him.

Allen was married to Janice for 38 years and they have three children.

He was educated in the Davidson County School System.  He received his GED in the military where he served in the US Army.  As a civilian, he was employed in manufacturing as a machine operator.  He worked at MTSU as a supervisor in Environmental Management.  He retired from Jostens due to health issues.  He took pride in his work and was meticulous about his appearance.  He loved clothes and would prepare a week in advance for next Sunday.  He loved his physical and spiritual families.  He liked to advise others in truthfulness according to his lifes experiences and God’s word.

Allen was preceded in death by his parents.

He leaves to cherish his memories, loving wife, Janice Brandon; daughter, Leanetta T. Brandon; sons, Joseph G. Brandon, Anthony T. Brandon and Torrey (Nicole) Smith; grandchildren, Laneà, Kiara, Sydney, Chase, LeAndre, Toriana and Tatum.

No matter how he felt with each dawning day, he would say, “I am blessed.”

6 thoughts on “Mr. Allen Gentry Brandon

  1. Alan you were the one person that gave me advice tempered with SENSE. I will forever have a hole in the place you occupied in my life. Janice you know you can call on me at any time.

  2. Allen, my heart is literally broken. You were such a good friend, It will take a long time to come to grips with your loss. I will not get to hear “RED” anymore. You only said it because you knew i did not like it. But that is just the way you were. I really thought that you were going to get better. Out of the original Sunday School class (regulars) there is only two of us left. All three of us had heart problems. I will miss you my friend forever, no more trips to Urgent Care because I let my Gout flair up, not to mention the trip to MMC in Murfreesboro. Janice, I am so sorry. May God help you get through these upcoming very difficult days. Our lives are forever changed. My brother Bobby and now my brother Allen. I am going your counsel. Such wisdom you had and shared with me. So long my friend.

  3. Mr. Allen, I will always remember the prayer you prayed that I requested patience on my job, but God gave you the wisdom and knowledge to ask for the right thing and that was strength. I AM forever appreciative of uou thoughtfulness, kind words and wisdom imparted on Sunday mornings. Rest well Brother Allen- I know that you are with the Lord and you will be missed.

  4. Sis. Janice and family, our sympathy and prayers go out to you at this time. It has been such a blessing and joy to have known you and Allen for so long. On behalf of the Couples Retreat we pray that God will give you peace, comfort, and strength during this time. May the sweet memories help to sustain you in the days ahead.

  5. Sis Janice and family you have my sympathy hope you find strength knowing he is resting in the hand of Lord. Time will help easy your pain, take one day at a time.

  6. Alan
    Man my life is just blank sometimes. I can’t call you. I can’t hear your voice except mentally. I can’t talk to you. No one is here that knows me knows ME like you. No one can give advice like you, Alan. Sometimes you just want an ear to listen, not a mouth to speak. You knew when to do both. I remember you telling me you weren’t bouncing back,and I just took for granted that you would. Having to tell Mom you were no longer here with us was hard to say the least. I couldn’t even truly be there for her because I was grieving myself. Times like these were when you got me over and through the struggles I was going through. I love you and MISS you GREATLY Alan.

Leave a Condolence

